Bit By Bit Student Podcast – Cohort 6, Episode 1 – Welcome to Bitmaker Labs!

The New Bit By Bit Hosts!

Hello Everyone!

The Bitmaker Bit By Bit student podcast is back and this time we have Sanborn, Sandeep, Ian, and Taha from Cohort 6 at the helm. Our 6th cohort for our Web Development Immersive course commenced on March 24th and will be concluding in the 3rd week of May. Applications are still open for our June Web Development Immersive program. You can also check out our introductory-level Rapid Prototyping program if you’re looking for an earlier (May) start.

Want to get to know our student podcast team a little bit more? Of course you do, just look at those faces. Below you will find all the Cohort 6 podcast host information.

Ian Cantor

ian cantor

My name’s Ian and I’m from New Hope, Pennsylvania. Before Bitmaker I had studied political science and worked on a congressional campaign. However, I soon realized that the job wasn’t for me. I started coding on the side with close friends and fell in love with it. Soon after, I decided to pursue programming fully and came to Bitmaker Labs to learn more than I could teach myself on my own! I’m excited to join the Bitmaker Labs student podcast team and share with you the tips and tricks I’ve learned along the way.

Words to live by:
“Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.” – Winston Churchill

Things you probably don’t know about me:
“I taught myself how to make sushi rolls but otherwise lack actual culinary skill.”

To connect with me:
Twitter: @IanCantor2
Facebook: Ian Cantor
LinkedIn: Ian Cantor

Taha Jalil

taha jalil

Hey, this is Taha. I hail from the capital city of Pakistan, Islamabad. I have been in Canada for 6 and a half years, first graduating from the University of Waterloo with a double major in Actuarial Science and Statistics, and now a student at Bitmaker Labs. Quite a 180 degree turn, eh? Well, I fell in love with coding. In my last year of school I started working on a project which meandered into a start-up (ThinkFit.Me) that eventually failed. But the process introduced me to some really cool people and projects, and I too wanted to be a part of that. I think my moment of revelation was really when I asked myself, do I want to be a part of the team that changes the world, or the team that does pension calculations for them…

Things you probably don’t know about me:

I have Led Zeppelin on repeat when I’m coding. Coding favourites “In my Time of Dying” and “Ramble On”.

Words to live by:
“Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing.” – Helen Keller

To connect with me:
Facebook: Taha Jalil 
LinkedIn: Taha Jalil 
GitHub: Taha Jalil pastedGraphic.png

Sandeep Dhanjani

IMG_9894

Hi my name is Sandeep Dhanjani. I live in Toronto but was born in Dubai.  I’m a scorpio, and I like long walks on the beach. Sorry wrong profile, lol. Before joining Bitmaker I had studied accounting, finance and project management.  I have worked in the fields of finance and accounting for 9 years and earned my CPA CMA in the process, but I always searched for a creative outlet outside of the office and that came to me in the form of standup comedy, which I studied at Second City.  Soon it lead me to create an idea for a app for comedians.
While working on this project I soon felt helpless in the process. It lead me to develop a desire to code myself, and here I am fulfilling that desire by learning to code here at Bitmaker.  I’m really looking forward to passing on what I learned and chronicle my experience as a member of the Bitmaker podcast team.

Words to live by:
“Fortune favours the bold” – Latin Proverb

Things you probably don’t know about me:
I am CFO of a Canadian based Rap Battle League called “King of the Dot”.

To connect with me:
Facebook: Sandeep Dhanjani

Sanborn Hilland

sanborn hilland

Hi! My name is Sanborn Hilland. I grew up and currently live in, Markham, Ontario. My route to Bitmaker was a bit circuitous. After graduating from high school I went to Sheridan College for illustration fundamentals. The intention was to go into animation but that didn’t pan out so I worked for a year and then went to the University of Western Ontario (UWO) for philosophy. I completed my B.A. in philosophy and moved to Halifax to complete my M.A. in philosophy at Dalhousie University. Then, after graduating last August, I was ejected into the world outside academia and quickly realized the success I was used to in university was not going to come easily. With six months of floundering on the job market and a determination not to be an arts graduate cliché, I found Bitmaker, where, for the last three weeks, I’ve been learning at breakneck speed, developing carpal tunnel syndrome, and gaining the confidence to make it in this world.

Words to live by:
“When art critics get together they talk about Form and Meaning and Structure. When artists get together they talk about where you can buy cheap turpentine.” -Picasso

To connect with me:
Facebook: Sanborn Hilland
Twitter: @sanbornh
GitHub: Sanbornh

Leave a Reply

